Fabulous Wimbledon memories


Taking time out from exploring historic Pretoria, I wade through my own archives, and these are some of my favourite Wimbledon memories.

My first visit to the All England Club was in 1989, when merchandising was in it’s infancy. The player towel was given to me by Jana Novotna. Nowadays buying a towel is a must have souvenir.

The same was true for the official balls.  Note Centre Court pre-roof days !!

Unlike the other 3 Grand Slam tournaments, there are no matches on the middle Sunday at Wimbledon. But rain delays forced the organisers on 2 occasions that I was there, to have play on the middle Sunday.

My two favourite Wimbledon photos…both circa 1990.

Steffi Graf and Gabriela Sabatini playing doubles on Court 2.

And my hero in action on Court 1. McEnroe arguing ?

Me, about to have my morning tee !! (Thanx René )

About tshwanetourist

freelance journalist, accidental tourist, avid sports fan, Mercedes Sosa convert
This entry was posted in Culture, History, Journal, Lifestyle, Photography, Sports, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fabulous Wimbledon memories

  1. Ilana says:

    One day…..

  2. Rene Fourie says:

    Ha ha, I remember giving you that mug! Wimbledon was my best OB experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

